Concealed carry is a subject we get commonly get questions about at Mid America Arms. While we do not offer any classes in-store, below we have provided some answers to some of the most frequently asked questions.
How long is the class required to get a permit?
The Missouri concealed carry permit requires eight hours of instruction by a trainer certified by the state of Missouri. Sometimes this is done in one class, other times the class is broken into two four-hour classes. There is also a shooting qualification after the classroom instruction.
How much does it cost to get a permit?
Most classes will cost between $100.00 and $150.00, depending on the location and shooting portion. Many times, you will be required to supply your own firearms and ammunition or to pay an additional fee to rent supplies for the class. Some of the more expensive classes are all-inclusive. Be sure to ask your instructor what you need to bring with you to your class, and what the fees will be to rent supplies on-site!
The local CCW application fees as of August 28, 2015, are as follows:
- St. Louis County – $90.00
- City of St. Louis – $100.00
- Jefferson County – $100.00
- St. Charles County – $100.00
How long is my permit valid?
Missouri permits are valid for five years from the date of issue. Expired permits can be renewed up to six months after expiration before the qualifying class must be retaken. The schedule of fees for St. Louis County as of August 28, 2015, is listed below. Check your city/county for the most up to date schedule of fees.
- Concealed Carry Change of Address – $8.00
- Concealed Carry Replacement for Lost Permit – $8.00
- Concealed Carry Name Change – $8.00
- Concealed Carry Late Renewal Fee – $10.00 per month, up to six months
How old do I have to be to have a CCW permit?
As of August 28, 2014, the age to obtain a concealed carry permit in the state of Missouri was lowered to nineteen. However, anyone under the age of twenty-one cannot purchase a handgun from a Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL).
What about carrying in Illinois?
Illinois recently passed legislation to allow for Illinois residents to obtain CCW permits from the Illinois State Police. There is a provision to allow for residents of other states to be issued an Illinois CCW permit under the new law, as Illinois does not reciprocate with any other state’s permit. As of September 1, 2015, Missouri is not included on the list of states whose residents are eligible to obtain an Illinois CCW. Therefore, a Missouri resident is not allowed to carry a concealed weapon in Illinois.
Many of your other questions will be answered during the eight hour pre-requisite course taken to obtain your concealed carry permit. While our employees have all taken a concealed carry course, we are not lawyers and may not definitive answers to all of your questions. For more on the Missouri concealed carry statute, click here.